Walking with God

The following verses have captured my thoughts for the past couple of days:

Enoch lived sixty-five years, and became the father of Methuselah. Then Enoch walked with God three hundred years after he became the father of Methuselah, and he had other sons and daughters. So all the days of Enoch were three hundred and sixty-five years. Enoch walked with God; and he was not, for God took him. – Genesis 5:21-24, NASB

In the Bible there are only two men who didn’t die: Enoch and Elijah. We know a lot about Elijah, because his time as prophet is well recorded, especially his battles with Ahab and Jezebel. But this is all we know about Enoch. We’re told he had a kid, Methuselah, that he walked with God, and then he was not, for God took him. We don’t have a laundry list of good deeds or really anything that tells us why he was different from so many others in the Bible. What we do know is he “walked with God.” But that says a lot right there.

God no longer walks beside us like He did in the garden with Adam and Eve. But He’s always here, wherever here is. After all, Psalm 139 reminds us:

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.

– Psalm 139:7-10, NASB

Though God is with us, that doesn’t mean we’re walking with God. After all, one only has to look at a clip of people walking on a busy city street. There are a lot of people walking. But we wouldn’t say they are walking together. They are traveling on the same ground, sure. But they aren’t together. You can tell the difference when folks are walking together. They are looking at each other. They are usually talking with one another. They are communicating, even if with only nonverbal cues to indicate whether or not to cross the street or go into a store. But you can tell when a group of people are together. You can especially tell when a couple is together. Maybe it’s the holding of hands that give it away. But usually it’s much more. Certainly there should be some affection. And I don’t mean kisses and hugs. Younger couples who are new to each other that is often the case. But older couples, couples who have weathered storms together, you don’t see such outright expressions usually. Typically it’s a nod of the head or a knowing and soft smile that gives away that they are a couple.

Do people see us and God as walking together? Do we demonstrate genuine affection for our Savior? Can people tell we are a couple? Can they see that connection that differentiates us from the people who are simply walking on the same path? I think with Enoch they could. I think with Enoch, since he was walking with God, they could see how genuinely he loved his Creator. This is how it is supposed to be with every believer. After all, Christ is our bridegroom and as His church we are His bride. It has made me think a lot about where I am in my “walk” with Christ. What was said about Enoch is what I want people to say about me: he walked with God. I think to be known for that would be the greatest thing I could be known for. And I want that to be said about my wife and my children. And my grandchildren and their children. But a lot of that depends on my own example, and that means my own walk. I’ve talked about the fact that we need to be ready to go like Abram was. But we also need to be seen as a couple with our Lord. Another thing to focus on in this new year.

Comments Off on Walking with God

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.