What We Do, We Do for Him

At the missions camp this summer, Colossians 3:17 was the key verse. Of course we were asked to memorize it and I did. Not so much because of being asked to do so, but because of what it says:

Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father. – Colossians 3:17, NASB

These words remind me of some of the words from one of the songs from the movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. It was a Bryan Adams’ song called “(Everything I Do) I Do It for You.” Some of the key stanzas are:

Don’t tell me it’s not worth tryin’ for
You can’t tell me it’s not worth dyin’ for
You know it’s true
Everything I do – I do it for you

Look into your heart – you will find
There’s nothin’ there to hide
Take me as I am – take my life
I would give it all – I would sacrifice

Don’t tell me it’s not worth fightin’ for
I can’t help it – there’s nothin’ I want more
Ya know it’s true
Everything I do – I do it for you

Now the song is a love ballad and it’s supposed to express to what lengths one person will go to for another. It’s all about love and devotion. And you know, that’s how it’s supposed to be between us and Christ. He already loved us this much. His death on the Cross proved that. It should be our goal to love Him this much back. And if you go back to the words in Colossians 3:17, you see that Paul writes, “Whatever you do.” In other words, there’s nothing excluded. Everything is to be in the name of the Lord Jesus. And everything should be about giving thanks to God the Father. If we had that attitude I bet that would change some of our actions. But you know, Paul couldn’t leave us with the one reminder. He repeated himself only a little bit later, expanding upon what he said in verse 17:

Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance It is the Lord Christ whom you serve. – Colossians 3:23-24, NASB

He points out that what we do should be for the Lord (that “Whatever you do,” is back). We’re not working and serving for our boss. We’re not working and serving for our company. We’re not even working and serving for our family. We should be working and serving for the Lord rather than for anyone else. And Paul reminds us that this work isn’t without reward. So while we may have to go through trial and pain, toil and weariness, the fact of the matter is it’s all worth it because of who it is we are doing it for. Christ is asking us to respond in the words of that Bryan Adams’ song, “Everything I do, I do it for you.”

So applying this to decisions, since that’s been the topic this week, that means we’ve got to ensure the decision we make is truly for God. If it’s for us, and God is neglected, it’s the wrong choice. Even if it’s the right course of action, the question is really about who we’re doing it for. If we’re not doing it for Him, it’s wrong. Likewise, if our course of action does not match up with what God has given us in His Word, it’s not for Him. We can say it is, but it’s really not. That’s like when the teenage son goes up to dad and says, “Dad, I had some spare time this afternoon and I washed the car and cleaned the interior. I wanted to do something for you and it needed doing. I love you.” Dad, being no fool, waits for the rest of it patiently as he looks at his son. Sure enough, his son then asks, “By the way, Dad, I have a date tonight. Do you mind if I borrow the car?” At that point it’s obvious who the son did it for: himself.

So in everything that we do, whether in word or deed, we should do it for Jesus. No matter how hard the decision we face, no matter how uncertain the outcome may be, we do it, because God has called us to it and because we love and serve Him. Whatever the price, there is a reward. Whatever the cost, it’ll be worth it. God is faithful in that manner. He’s asking us to be faithful in loving Him and doing everything that we do for Him.

Comments Off on What We Do, We Do for Him

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.