But I Can’t…

Jeremiah is an interesting guy. He ministered amidst a lot of opposition. He kept going though he suffered heartache for the state of his nation. And he persevered though it became dangerous for him to do so, because God kept urging him on. He suffered physically, but did not give in. He suffered mentally and emotionally, yet continued to do God’s will. And that’s a great illustration for us. Times aren’t always going to be easy. We’re not always go to be on the spiritual mountain top. So these words to Jeremiah can be a great comfort to us and a reminder that whatever we’re going through, God is there with us, it isn’t outside of His control, and He knows exactly what He’s doing:

Now the word of the LORD came to me saying,
“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
And before you were born I consecrated you;
I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.”
Then I said, “Alas, Lord GOD!
Behold, I do not know how to speak,
Because I am a youth.”
But the LORD said to me,
“Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’
Because everywhere I send you, you shall go,
And all that I command you, you shall speak.
“Do not be afraid of them,
For I am with you to deliver you,” declares the LORD.
– Jeremiah 1:4-8, NASB

Now God hasn’t appointed us all to be a prophet to the nations. Or has He? Actually, He has, in the Old Testament sense, which is to declare God and His Word to those around us. We call that “evangelism” today. So actually, He has. Being a mouthpiece for God isn’t easy. It wasn’t easy for Jeremiah and it isn’t easy for us. Yet, still, we must be exactly that. Now there’s a right way and a wrong way to talk to people about God and what He wants from us. So we have to be careful to be His mouthpiece and not our own. How do we do that? We rely on Him for the words to speak. We rely on Him to know who to speak to. We rely on Him for the courage to speak to those folks in the first place. That’s an awful lot of relying, but that’s the point. That’s what God was trying to tell Jeremiah here. And that’s what He tries to tell us in every life circumstance. So whenever I start to say, “But I can’t,” the Lord reminds me that He can!

Isn’t it great to know we have a God who loves us and takes a personal interest in each one of us? Aren’t you excited about the fact that the Creator of the Universe has a plan for you, one that will lift you up in His sight, if you yield to His will? Aren’t you reassured that it doesn’t matter if you’re lacking to accomplish that plan, God will provide what is needed for success? And aren’t you glad that He promises to deliver us, that no one and nothing can keep us from Him and His presence? I know I am. And that fuels my drive through each and every day.

Comments Off on But I Can’t…

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.