God Has It Covered

I am amazed sometimes at my own lack of faith. Time and time again the Bible reveals that God comes through when it doesn’t seem possible. My own walk has shown me that God comes through on His promises, even if I can’t see how He could. But yet, I doubt. I trust in my own power and when it’s outside of my own power, I worry, I falter, and I wonder if God is going to come through again. I can go through the mental exercises and tell myself that He’ll be there, that He’ll take care of it, but I have a big problem with worrying. It’s definitely a weakness in my life. And it’s something about my life I am going to work on this coming year. I need to trust God more. It’s really as simple as that. And examples like this tell me that I can:

The daughter of Pharaoh came down to bathe at the Nile, with her maidens walking alongside the Nile; and she saw the basket among the reeds and sent her maid, and she brought it to her. When she opened it, she saw the child, and behold, the boy was crying. And she had pity on him and said, “This is one of the Hebrews’ children.”

Then his sister said to Pharaoh’s daughter, “Shall I go and call a nurse for you from the Hebrew women that she may nurse the child for you?”

Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, “Go ahead.” So the girl went and called the child’s mother. Then Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, “Take this child away and nurse him for me and I will give you your wages.” So the woman took the child and nursed him.
– Exodus 2:5-9, NASB

Pharaoh’s daughter knew the baby belonged to one of the Israelites. And she also knew the edict saying all the Hebrew boys had to be cast into the Nile River. In other words, they were to be killed. But something about this baby boy touched Pharaoh’s daughter and she decided to keep the child. Conveniently, an Israelite girl just happened to be nearby and she just happened to know of someone who could nurse the child. Talk about a coincidence! Pharaoh’s daughter surely wasn’t that naive. She knew what was going on. The woman who was going to nurse the child was the baby’s mother, someone who had been disobedient to Pharaoh. But rather than seeing the woman punished, Pharaoh’s daughter not only had Moses’ mom nurse her own child, but Pharaoh’s daughter paid mom for it! You want to talk about an unlikely scenario? There you go.

If we were drawing this up as a plot line for a story, folks would laugh at us. This would seem so unlikely as to be absurd. But that’s exactly how the situation played out. God ensured that Moses, who would be one of His greatest prophets, would be preserved. And God ensured Moses had the background he would need to be the leader of God’s people. This is the type of thing that only our God is capable of. It’s a definite reason I need to trust Him. If I’m walking in His will, He already has an optimal resolution. Now it may not be optimal in my eyes, but in the overall plan of redemption, it’s absolutely perfect. So I need to worry less and trust more, for He has it covered.

Comments Off on God Has It Covered

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.