Weary and Tired

Lately a few of my coworkers have been pulling some really, really outrageous hours. I know they’re exhausted. They’re on a project to upgrade a key IT component for the organization. And there are problems. Since it’s a key component, they’re putting in a lot of extra hours to try and solve those problems. That’s the way it is if you’re a system administrator. So mommas, don’t let your kids grow up to system administrators. To kind of explain what they’re going through, consider that for most of us, Friday is the end of the work week. Because of the issues they are facing, however, they will probably be working again this weekend. It’s easy to become tired and weary in those circumstances.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30, NIV

I empathize with my coworkers. Up until a year ago, I was doing the same job. And I worked many a long hour. I made a career move that may be considered a step backward, but it was worth it. I now have more time to spend with my family and on ministry. Jesus can empathize with them, too. He traveled a lot, he taught a lot, and he dealt a lot with people, some of whom were interested spiritually in what He said, some who despised Him for shaking up the balance of power, but many more who tagged along, at least initially, like he was some sort of rockstar. That’s got to be draining on a person. Yet He offered His own strength and comfort to those who were tired and weary.

Jesus knew everyone of us faces this situation from time to time. And there are plenty of temptations and distractions in this world to help us flee our tiredness and exhaustion. But those temptations just make things worse in the long run. Therefore Christ presented an alternative: Himself. How awesome is that? How awesome is it that my Savior and my Lord says when I’m tired, I should go to Him? Usually it’s the other way around. When the lord is tired, the servant does the comforting. Not in this case. That’s not the way Jesus works. He sets the example for us by His own example. And His own example says to take care of those around us who are tired and weary.

As this weekend approaches, are you tired and weary? A natural tendency would be to sit down and surf the Internet or watch the TV or go hole up and do some sort of mindless activity which demands little of you. That’s how we typically deal with weariness and exhaustion. We “veg” out to recover. Christ offers a different plan. He wants us to come spend time with Him. Notice the phrase “learn from me” in His words. It’s not just about showing up and crashing, it’s also about learning what our real priorities should be and how to handle a busy life. Meanwhile, He helps us recuperate. He tends to our exhaustion. And He does all this because of His great love for us. This week has been hard on me, too, though nowhere near as hard as on my buddies. As a result, my plan is to spend a little extra time with my Savior, adjusting priorities, worshipping Him, and just being still and quiet in His presence. I can’t think of a better way to recover than that.

Comments Off on Weary and Tired

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.