Poem: Purest Joy

I will not take joy in the every day
Or in anything that passes away
But instead I will lift up my eyes
To You beyond the bluest skies
And in You I will find my purest joy
You and only You, O Lord

I will consider Your majesty and beauty
And the might and strength of Your Word
That speaks and creates out of nothing
For there is none so great as You, O Lord.

I will be humbled by Your grace and mercy
For none of us deserve Your bless-ed Son
But into the fray You sent Him anyway
To redeem us from our evil, wicked ways

I bow before Your holy, righteous nature
And am in awe of Your perfect and just Law
Which reveals to me the depths of my sin
Causing me to cry out, weeping in repentance

I will exult in Your perfect forgiveness
Which removes the curse of my sins
And I will come brokenhearted before You
To kneel surrendered before Your throne

I cannot help but rejoice in my unmerited gift
That cost You such a great and terrible sacrifice
I do not deserve Your grace and could not earn it
But You promise it by Your Son to be mine forever

After all of this how can I find real joy
In anything less than You, O my Lord?
Nothing else in all creation even compares
To You, my King, my Savior, my Father

I will not take joy in the every day
Or in anything that passes away
But instead I will lift up my eyes
To You beyond the bluest skies
And in You I will find my purest joy
You and only You, O Lord

Comments Off on Poem: Purest Joy

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.