Trust God, Even When You Can’t See the Whole Way

I’m a big picture type of guy. It helps a lot when dealing with trying to understand how systems work, which is why that’s what I do a lot of on the IT side of things. So I like to see the whole plan, maybe not the individual little steps, but the chunks that have to be reeled off to complete a project. While my wife will tell you I can get obsessed with the details, I tend to do so only after starting to see the larger scope of things. This has pros and cons. One of the cons means I struggle with what Abraham did:

Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. And I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

So Abram went, as the LORD had told him, and Lot went with him. Abram was seventy-five years old when he departed from Haran.
          – Genesis 12:1-4, ESV

God said, “Go!” and Abram went. He wasn’t told where. He wasn’t even given a general direction. He was just told to leave his father’s house. So that’s exactly what he did. Amazing. What’s the plan, God? Where will I be a year from now? What will I need along the way? Who should go with me and who will I check in with at each stop? Those would have been the questions I would have been asking. But we’re not given any indication that Abram, later Abraham, did any of that. In fact, at each stop along the way, it seems like we don’t see Abraham doing much elaborate planning at all. When he did, like thinking it was a good idea to pass his wife off as “merely” his sister,  he always managed to mess things up. Things worked out better when he just trusted God and followed through.

The same would be true of us, but that means giving up control. Wanting to see the big picture is very much a control thing. I realize that. With systems, you’ve got to be in control or bad things happen. With projects, the PM better be in control or the project will likely crash and burn. But with God there is no control to be grasped. God has it all. And He doesn’t need our help. We all know that, but in our heart of hearts that is not something we easily admit to. It is the truth, however, and it should free us and give us courage that others might consider foolishness. It’s not foolishness, though, because it’s backed by the Almighty.

Maybe that’s why God typically gives me just enough notice to take care of and finish things out before moving on to the next area He wants me at work at. Very rarely have I had the luxury of knowing about a change. I think it’s a challenge to how I typically want things. God showing me to go here or go there and that’s it, not unrolling the master plan, not letting me see but a little bit down the road, means I am forced to trust Him. In this way He attacks one of the bastions of strength I have and a key reason why I can get distracted and start focusing more on self than on God. When He just says, “Go!” there’s nothing to argue over. It’s time to move out.

This isn’t to say we shouldn’t do our proper planning and due diligence when we have time. Rather, it’s a reminder that when God says, “Go!” He has already planned everything out.What we don’t know or understand can wait. It’s not important right now. Think back over your prayer time and Bible reading over the last few months. Have you felt God tugging at you to just trust Him? Have you resisted because you couldn’t see more of what He was calling you to do? If the opportunity is still open, and you know it’s from God, seize it. He’ll give you what you need to know for right now. And really, that’s enough. That’s what trusting God is all about.

1 Comment

Filed under Devotional

One response to “Trust God, Even When You Can’t See the Whole Way

  1. Great post Brian! Society (even many Christians) considers those who do what Abraham did, and who make such leaps of faith today, “stupid”, “foolish”, and “shortsighted”. I suppose that being in the world and not of the world requires learning not to be so concerned about what others will think. That takes faith too.