What is your greatest treasure?

“What do I value most in life?” That’s a question most of us answer evasively. As Christians we know what the Biblical answer is. If asked, we probably give that answer. It’ll be related to Jesus, our relationship to Him, our salvation through grace, or something along those lines. However, though we know and recite the correct answer, if we are honest with ourselves our lives do not reflect the answer we so willingly give. Here’s the standard:

 

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant in search of fine pearls, who, on finding one pearl of great value, went and sold all that he had and bought it.
– Matthew 13:44-46 (ESV)

Do I treat my relationship with Jesus, my salvation through grace, as so great a treasure that I’d give up anything for it? My mind immediately jumps in with, “Yes! Absolutely!” After all, this is the answer we’ve been conditioned to give. Note what each man gave up in these two parables: everything. If Jesus came visibly to me, would I be willing to give up my house, my stuff, my vehicles, my job, all of my savings, even my family? Yes, I would. His presence would likely be so overwhelming that I would be able to think of nothing else. However, in the absence of His presence what is my answer? If put to the test, how would I respond?

If Christ is my greatest treasure, so great in comparison to everything else, then I wouldn’t hesitate one bit. I would be like the man and merchant in these two parables and I would immediately jump at the chance to be that close to my Savior, to seek to please Him, to love Him back for first loving me. The reality is I know this is not the way I would feel. I would hesitate. I do hesitate. He deserves more.

Is Christ your greatest treasure? Would you be willing to give up everything for Him in an instant if called to do so? Ask yourself these questions slowly and soberly. What stands in your way? What would you have to give up or let go of in order that Jesus would be your greatest treasure? Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal these answers to you and to help you in giving those things up or letting them go.

1 Comment

Filed under Devotional

One response to “What is your greatest treasure?

  1. Another great post, Brian.

    Thanks.

    Last night at Bible study at the new church we were going through John 12 1-9. Mary anointing Jesus’ feet. In the discussion someone pointed out something I’ve never really zoomed in on before – in another of the Gospels Mary (perhaps the same incident, perhaps a different one, not important)… She pointed out that Mary broke the bottle with the expensive perfume/ointment. Didn’t hold anything back because she couldn’t. The seal was broken and it had to all be used. I really like that and really see that as a good illustration for being willing to give it all up to Him.

    For me? It’s “my” time I need to do the better job fully giving over to Him. I’m most stingy and selfish with it – and I end up wasting much. And from that other faults come up.

    Thanks for sharing and encouraging/exhorting.