How do I know I can trust God?

Is trusting God easy? In my experience, it hasn’t been. I realize that every person is different. Some folks have found it easier to trust God. I will say it is easier to trust God the more I experience Him at work. I know that as I experience God more, I grow closer to this perspective penned by King David:

Now I know that the Lord saves his anointed;he will answer him from his holy heavenwith the saving might of his right hand. Some trust in chariots and some in horses,but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.  – Psalm 20:6-7, ESV

David had seen God do the miraculous. David had seen God deliver him personally time and time again. David had witness God turn that which was intended for evil for the good. Based on when we first meet him in Scripture, David started with a strong belief and over time it became even stronger. Experiencing God at work changes us. It gives us the capacity to trust Him more.

However, it has to begin somewhere. For me, it began when I first trusted that He would save me as Scripture promises. That was a hard, hard thing for me to accept. I had drilled into my head for twenty years that if I were to succeed or fail, it was all up to me. That clashed with what Scripture presents: salvation wasn’t something I could do on my own. It wasn’t up to me. I was powerless.  This started a war in both my heart and my mind. Then, finally, I trusted. 

I can’t tell you to trust God and that be the end of it. I can ask you to trust God and point to experience after experience of other people who have trusted God and seen God deliver. They’ve seen God honor His promises. They’ve been part of God doing the “impossible.” Scripture is filled with such examples. So are our churches. I can askl you to trust God but then I have to leave the decision to you. That’s where it is: with you. Will you trust Him? 

One proviso: trust God in His promises. Scripture tells us when, where, and how we can trust God. Don’t trust God for something Scripture doesn’t state. For instance, don’t think, “I need a new sports car and I’m going to trust God for it.” That’s a want, not a need, and God didn’t make such a general, unqualified promise. However, if the situation lines up with the Bible, trust, trust, trust! Then watch as God works to expand your trust in Him by delivering over and over again.

Comments Off on How do I know I can trust God?

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.