Search Me, O Lord

The starting point of revival is no secret: brokenness. God must reveal to us the depravity of our natures to the point where we can bear no more. Only He sees us for how we truly are. We even lie to ourselves, telling ourselves that we are better than we are. 

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!  – Psalm 139:23-24, ESV

The psalmist calls out to God, asking to be examined. He wants God to reveal the iniquities, the “grievous ways” within his heart, so that God may lead him to eternity. He realizes that sin is not trivial, it isn’t easily dismissed. It must be dealt with. And if we want to walk with God, for Him to lead us, God must reveal the sin in our lives to us so that we can deal with it. 

My prayer each day is this simple request given to us at the end of Psalm 139. May God search me and reveal to me the disobedience, disrespect, and disinterest I have towards Him. I want Him to show me and help me through each one. I want the same thing the psalmist wanted. I want for Him to lead me into the everlasting. And I want revival: God revealing Himself in a mighty movement which draws sinners to Himself again. Do you want the same?

Comments Off on Search Me, O Lord

Filed under Devotional

Comments are closed.