John 4:16-19

Sometime into my adult years, my parents revealed an important truth to me: while I was growing up, I wasn’t as good at not getting caught as I thought I was. A lot of the things my parents didn’t point out that they knew about were situations where they felt the best learning I could get was from the natural consequences that would result. Thus, they let me continue without letting me know that they were aware. They kept an eye on me, making sure I wouldn’t get too far into whatever it is I was doing, but they let me make my own mistakes. 

Jesus said to her, “Go, call your husband, and come here.” The woman answered him, “I have no husband.” Jesus said to her, “You are right in saying, ‘I have no husband’; for you have had five husbands, and the one you now have is not your husband. What you have said is true.” The woman said to him, “Sir, I perceive that you are a prophet. – John 4:16-19, ESV

God is our spiritual Father if we belong to Jesus. Regardless of our eternal situation, the Bible describes God as all-knowing. He is. Everything we do, good and bad, God knows about. We don’t fool God. We may fool ourselves, but God knows. And God often let’s us make our own mistakes. 

Such was the case with the Samaritan woman. He knew her past. As we have looked at, her past did not prevent her from receiving the gift of grace, God’s forgiveness and eternal salvation. However, Jesus needed to punch through her thinking of created things, of regular water, to get her to examine the spiritual. Therefore, He told her to do something that for her was impossible because of her current sinfulness. When she responded that she couldn’t, He revealed to her that He knew both her past and her present. This got her attention. Realizing there was no earthly way Jesus could have done by some knowledge, she called him a prophet. 

Of course, we know Him to be much more: the Son of God. However, He had gotten her to a point where He could speak to her about spiritual things. He also was able to get her to confront a major sin problem that had been present for a long time. That’s something God does with us. He gets us to deal with sins that have lingered in our lives, so that we may confess them and repent of them and get them out of our lives. 

God knows when we sin. Much of the time, He doesn’t immediately stop us because it is important we learn from the consequences. Some might say it’s an example of how God doesn’t care. Actually, it’s an example of the opposite. He is allowing us to learn in the best way for us at that moment. Then, when the time is right, He will bring up that sin and help us to work through breaking free of it. This is what He did with the Samaritan woman. How great and loving a God we adore! He is the greatest parent of all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a Reply

